Netherlands Adds Restrictions For Vaccinated Americans, Bans Unvaccinated

Netherlands Adds Restrictions For Vaccinated Americans, Bans Unvaccinated

The Netherlands becomes the latest European nation to add new restrictions and entry rules for American tourists, following the advice by the EU council to remove the U.S. from the official safe list.

The new entry rules are a far cry from the extremely relaxed regulations that just came into effect in late June. When the U.S. was added to the EU’s safe list this summer, the Netherlands responded by allowing American tourists to arrive test-free and quarantine-free, regardless of vaccination status. This made the Netherlands one of the easiest destinations for American tourists this summer but now has become one of the most restricted as the U.S. is added to the Netherlands ‘Very High-Risk’ list.

netherlands bans unvaccinated USA

New Unvaccinated Rules

Unvaccinated tourists from the United States are the most affected by the updated rules, as entry for those not vaccinated will be banned starting September 4, 2021.

New Vaccinated Rules

While not an all-out ban, the new rules put forth by the Netherlands severely hinder entry for vaccinated tourists from the USA. Americans are still able to enter but will now face extremely strict entry rules that will leave many rebooking to a different country.

Starting September 4th, vaccinated Americans will have to quarantine for 10 days, of which a negative test on the 5th day may release them early.

In addition, starting on September 6, 2021 a negative test will also be required for entry, and proof of recovery for entry will be taken off the table. The test times are not easy to comply with, as they are asking for a PCR test within 48 hours or a 24-hour antigen type test. Children under 12 are exempt from both new rules.

September 4:

  • Unvaccinated Americans banned from entry
  • Vaccinated Americans will be required to quarantine for 10-days with an optional test to release on day 5

September 6

  • Vaccinated Americans will need to provide a negative test before entry (48-hour PCT or 24-hour antigen)

Other nations affected

The U.S isn’t the only nation being affected by the update. Israel, Kosovo, Montenegro, and North Macedonia have also been added to the “very high-risk list” starting September 4th.

How is the 10-Day Quarantine Enforced?

Any passenger entering from a very-high risk area will be required to quarantine for 10-days upon arrival. The official government site mentions this can be done at a private residence or hotel accommodation.

The site also mentions that phone checks will be done during your quarantine, of which failure to answer could result in a physical check, fines or penalties. Tourists will be obliged to leave the phone number of their hotel or accommodation for the phone checks, which will be begin shortly after arrival.

There is an option to end the 10-day quarantine by testing negative on Day 5 of isolation, but there are no clear instructions if tourists are permitted to leave quarantine for the purpose of visiting a testing center, or if only mobile testing services can be used.

What nations are still allowing American tourists?

Croatia is one of the most notable nations that has publicly declared they will not be taking the advice of the EU and will still allow American tourists to visit, with a variety of entry options. Ireland is another country that has recently stated tourists from the United States will still be welcome to visit.

Some additional European nations that have not yet removed the USA include: Portugal, Spain, Iceland, Greece, and France.

Source link

Translate »